No, thanks ⊗
where wonder happens

LEED Certification Defined


The renovation and restoration of The Old House at Appleton Farms has been designed and is being built to meet LEED certification criteria. But just what is LEED?

LEED stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design. It is a building rating system established by the United States Green Building Council (USGBC) to measure the “greenness” of buildings. The intent is to promote healthful, durable, affordable, and environmentally sound practices in building design and construction.

The LEED 2009 Green Building Rating System for New Construction and Major Renovations evaluates projects in 7 areas:

  1. Site Selection
    Chose a site that is close to public transportation and community. Provide priority parking for fuel-efficient vehicles and facilities to accommodate bicycle commuters. Manage stormwater runoff, protect and restore habitat and maximize open-space. Use hardscape and roofing materials that are reflective and limit light pollution.
  2. Water Efficiency
    Reduce water use, use innovative technologies for wastewater and install water efficient landscaping.
  3. Energy Atmosphere
    Design and build the most energy efficient building as possible. This topic contributes the most points. Renewable energy and green power also earn points.
  4. Materials and Resources
    Reuse as much of the building and materials as possible. Recycle as much construction waste as possible. Chose new materials as responsibly as possible i.e. renewable, recycled, regional.
  5. Indoor Environmental Quality
    Design building for maximum thermal ventilating and lighting comfort. Maximize daylight and views. Chose materials (glues, paints, carpets, etc.) to minimize indoor air contaminants.
  6. Innovation in Design
    Go the extra mile. Educate the community, divert 100% of construction waste from landfill, establish a green maintenance and cleaning program.
  7. Regional Priority
    Address geographically specific environmental priorities.

Depending on the total points earned, a building achieves a certain level of certification. Platinum is the highest level, followed by Gold, Silver, and Certified. Currently The Old House is on target to achieve a rating of GOLD.

facebook twitter pinterest instagram

© 2019 The Trustees of Reservations
The Trustees is a 501c3 nonprofit organization
Est. 1891