Explore events, news, & more!

Notch Brewing Biergartens Are Here!

Beer garden

Trustees & Notch Brewing Biergartens There is a distinct pleasure to be found in having a drink and a bite to eat out of doors. After a long New England winter, the warm months feel especially balm-filled and precious, and our desire to spend as much time outside feels both urgent and medicinal. In that spirit, The Trustees and Salem-based craft brewery Notch Brewing are pleased to announce a new partnership to bring a series of family-friendly, outdoor ‘biergarten’ experiences to some of our parks, farms, and cultural sites this year.

Each biergarten presents family-friendly activities, food, refreshments, and entertainment, and highlights each location’s unique character, history, and natural wonders. The weekends feature locally crafted session (low alcohol) beer by Notch, which malt locally in Hadley, MA. The gardens are modeled after European-style, outdoor beer gardens growing in popularity both nationally and internationally as more and more people look for ways to enjoy leisure time together with family and friends.

Founded in 2010 and influenced by German and Czech biergartens that serve as community hubs for all ages, Notch Brewery is known for its popular session beer and its recently opened, family-friendly tap room and biergarten located in downtown Historic Salem. The first brewing company in the U.S. to focus exclusively on session beer, Notch Brewery is community-focused and supports the local food movement by sourcing its barley and malt from Hadley, MA. 

Upcoming Biergartens

November 3-4
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate, Ipswich

Past Biergartens

October 20-21
Appleton Farms, Ipswich

  • Saturday, October 20 | 12Noon-6PM
  • Sunday, October 21 | 12Noon-6PM

September 22-23
Fruitlands Museum, Harvard

  • Saturday, September 22 | 11AM-4PM<
  • Sunday, September 23 | 11AM-6PM

September 13-16
The Stevens-Coolidge Place, North Andover

  • Thursday, September 13 | 4-9PM
  • Friday, September 14 | 4-9PM
  • Saturday, September 15 | 12Noon-7PM
  • Sunday, September 16 | 12Noon-6PM

September 8-9
Powisset Farm, Dover

  • Saturday, September 8 | 12Noon-7PM
  • Sunday, September 9 | 12Noon-6PM

August 19
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate, Ipswich

  • Sunday, August 19 | 12Noon-6PM

August 10-11
Francis William Bird Park, Walpole

  • Friday, August 10 | 5-9PM
  • Saturday, August 11 | 12Noon-7PM

July 27-29
Rocky Woods, Medfield

  • Friday, July 27 | 5-9PM
  • Saturday, July 28 | 12Noon-7PM
  • Sunday, July 29 | 12Noon-6PM

July 21-22
Eleanor Cabot Bradley Estate, Canton

  • Saturday, July 21 | 12Noon-7PM
  • Sunday, July 22 | 12Noon-6PM

July 13-14
Appleton Farms, Hamilton & Ipswich

  • Friday, July 13 | 4-9PM
  • Saturday, July 14 | 12Noon-7PM

July 8
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate, Ipswich

  • Sunday, July 8 | 12-6PM

June 22-24
Chestnut Hill Farm, Southborough

  • Friday, June 22 | 4-9PM
  • Saturday, June 23 | 12Noon-9PM
  • Sunday, June 24 | 12Noon-6PM

June 15–17
Powisset Farm, Dover

  • Friday, June 15 | 4-9PM
  • Saturday, June 16 | 12Noon-7PM
  • Sunday, June 17 | 1-6PM

May 17–20
The Stevens-Coolidge Place, North Andover

  • Thursday, May 17 | 4-9PM
  • Friday, May 18 | 4-9PM
  • Saturday, May 19 | 4-8PM
  • Sunday, May 20 | 12Noon-6PM