- places to visit
- things to doevents
- what we care about
- about us
- Summer Camps
- keyword search
Cross a small bridge off Everett Street to reach the large stucco building that serves as the hub of the Trustees’ historical, curatorial, and institutional repositories.
The Archives & Research Center (ARC) cares for and curates Trustees’ history, providing researchers, Trustees sta , and the public access to thousands of historical documents, images, and artifacts. The property holds historically signi cant remains of the former Sharon Sanatorium for Pulmonary Disease, which operated from 1891 until 1949.
The ARC building’s fascinating history began in 1916, as the children’s pavilion of the Sharon Sanatorium, caring for youth afflicted with tuberculosis. The Kendall family purchased the property after the Sanatorium’s closing, and in 1956 opened the building as the Kendall Whaling Museum, which remained in operation until 2001 when its massive collection was merged with the New Bedford Whaling Museum.
Today, the ARC is a fire-retardant, climate-controlled structure, ideal for conservation and curatorial storage. Researchers are encouraged to visit the ARC for queries into the Trustees’ sizeable, and growing, repository. The ARC’s digital collections are available at thetrustees.org/collections.